Parliament has by a unanimous decision adopted the report of Committee on Selection on the composition of the Appointments Committee.

The 13:13 ratio composition was however opposed by the majority in the plenary. There was drama after the Speaker Alban Bagbin put the question for the adoption of the report following a number of arguments for and against.

The tables then turned with the majority pleading for the question to be put again after which there was an assent

Asawase MP Muntaka Mubarak, however, wanted to punish the majority before the second question was put by demanding headcount. Pleas from majority MPs like Patrick Yaw Boamah and Alexander Afenyo-Markin for him to resume his seat, however, yielded positive results.

The NPP majority side by a loud voice voted against the motion drowning the voice of the minority. The speaker was therefore compelled to demand headcount given the visibly fewer numbers on the side of the majority.

Below is the list of Members of the Appointments Committee who will be vetting President Akufo-Addo’s Ministers

  1. Joe Osei-Owusu (First deputy speaker)
  2. Alexander Afenyo-Markin
  3. John Ntim Fordjour
  4. Frank Annoh-Dompreh
  5. Patrick Yaw Boamah
  6. Dr. Mathew O. Prempeh
  7. Henry Quartey
  8. Bryan Acheampong
  9. Ursula G. Owusu-Ekuful
  10. Patricia Appiagyei
  11. Osei Bonsu Amoah
  12. Alhassan Tampoli Sulemana
  13. John Ampoyuah Kumah
  14. Haruna Iddrisu
  15. M. Mubarak-Muntaka
  16. Mahama Ayariga
  17. Sampson Ahi
  18. Eric Opoku
  19. Elizabeth Ofosu-Agyare
  20. James Agalga
  21. Edwin N. L. Vanderpuye
  22. Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa
  23. Alhassan Suhuyini
  24. Francis Xavier Kojo Sosu
  25. Zuwera Mohammed Ibrahim
  26. Gizella Tetteh-Agbotui


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here